Paul H. Lange Endowed Lectureship in Urology

The Department of Urology presents the annual Paul H. Lange, MD, FACS, Endowed Lectureship. The Visiting Professor is nominated by the Department faculty for his or her expertise in a sub-field of urology.

This is unpublished


The goal of the Visiting Professorship is to expose our residents to a leader in urology who can provide role modeling around a successful academic career and reinforce our emphasis on innovation in teaching. Secondly, the lectureship will honor Dr. Paul Lange and his innovative contributions throughout his career.

2019 Visiting Professor and Lange Lectureship

“The Future of Urology: What Can You Do?”

Thursday, September 19, 2019
7:00 PM – 8:00 PM (reception begins at 6:00pm)

UW Medicine South Lake Union
Brotman Auditorium
850 Republican Street,
Seattle WA 98109

Speaker Information

Robert C. Flanigan, MD, FACS

Robert C. Flanigan, MD, FACS

Albert J. Speh, Jr., and Claire R. Speh
Professor and Chair
Department of Urology
Loyola University Medical Center

Robert C. Flanigan was born in Lima, Ohio on May 2, 1946. He graduated from the College of Wooster and Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) School of Medicine before completing his residencies in urology and general surgery at CWRU Affiliated Hospitals in 1978.  He was board certified in both urology and surgery.  After residency, he served in the U.S. Air Force for two years and was awarded the Air Force Commendation Medal.  He then began his academic career at the University of Kentucky before accepting the position of Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Urology at Loyola University Medical Center (Stritch School of Medicine) in 1986.  In 1994, he became the first Albert J. Speh Jr. and Claire R. Speh Professor of Urology at Loyola. In 2006, he was awarded the Stritch Medal of Loyola University, the highest honor given annually to one Stritch School of Medicine faculty member or alum.  Bob was also honored by the establishment of the Robert C. Flanigan Endowed Professorship in Urology at Loyola, a gift from his patients.

Bob has been very involved in basic and clinical research throughout his career. He has made over 440 contributions to the medical literature, including over 300 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 73 book chapters. His primary research interests have been in the area of urologic oncology, especially renal and prostate carcinoma.  His research work with cytoreductive nephrectomy dramatically changed practice patterns in advanced renal cancer.  Bob has had continuous research funding throughout his career from the NIH, VA Merit Review System, and multiple other national research funding mechanisms.   He has served a principal investigator on many awards, most recently a 5-year NIH (NCI) RO1 grant entitled, “Adiposity and Outcomes of Clinically Localized Prostate Cancer”.  In recognition of his work in research, Bob received the Distinguished Contribution Award of the Society of Basic Urologic Research in 2011.

In addition, Bob has been very involved in leadership positions in many urologic organizations. He has served as President of the American Board of Urology, the Society of Urologic Oncology, the Society of University Urologists, the Society of Pelvic Surgeons, the North Central Section of the American Urological Association (AUA) and was the founder and first President of the Society of Urologic Chairpersons and Program Directors. He has also served as a Governor of the American College of Surgeons.

In 2011, Bob completed a five year term as AUA Secretary, during which, he directed the development of the first Core Curriculum for Urology and also initiated the Global Philanthropic Committee that has since funded successful urologic educational projects in areas of need around the world.  In 2011, he was awarded Honorary Membership in the AUA. In the same year, the AUA created the Robert C. Flanigan Education Award, to be given every three years to “an individual who has made exemplary contributions to the educational goals of the AUA”. Bob was President of the AUA from 2018-2019. He is also an Honorary Member of the European Urological Association and other national urologic societies (Japan, China, Brazil, Argentina and Ireland).  Bob has been recognized by many other awards, including the Ramon Guiteras Award of the AUA, the Ferdinand Valentine Medal of the New York Academy of Medicine, the Huggins Medal of the Society of Urologic Oncology and the first Distinguished Service Award given by the Chicago Urological Society.

Bob currently serves as Past-President of the American Urological Association and as President of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons.